What is a statute of limitations?
Each state has its own statute of limitations governing when you must file your lawsuit. The available time provided by this statute of limitations depends upon both the state in which the claim will be filed, and the type of claim to be filed.
Below is a list of the basic time periods under Michigan’s statute of limitations laws. These time periods might be shortened by other filing requirements or notices depending upon the type of case.
For instance, in medical malpractice cases, Michigan law require Plaintiffs to send an “Intent to File a Medical Malpractice Claim” to all Defendants at least 182 days prior to filing a medical malpractice claim. Thus, in reality, Plaintiffs only have around 18 months from the beginning of the 2 year statute of limitations to begin filing required notices.
How to calculate when the statute of limitations begins?
you hier an attorney from a firm other then The Lockwood Legal Group. Your attorney misses a crucial filing deadline for your case. however, you do not find out about his mistake until six months later.
The attorney in the above example committed professional malpractice. In Michigan, the statute of limitations for professional malpractice is two years. But, when does this 2 year time period begin?
Do you have 2 years from the date of the attorney’s mistake to file a malpractice claim? Or, do you have 2 years from the date you found out about the attorney’s mistake?
Calculating the beginning of the statute of limitations is a complicated process requiring assistance from a qualified attorney. If you think you might have a legal claim of any type, contact our attorneys immediately.
The below time periods are provided for informational purposes only. For the most up to date statutory information and to correctly apply the statute of limitation for the particulars of your case, contact The Lockwood Legal Group today! We have also detailed the statute of limitations in Indiana and Ohio.
Michigan’s civil statute of limitations
Libel/Slander 1 yr. § 600.5805(7)
Fraud 6 yrs. § 600.5813
Injury to Personal Property 3 yrs. § 600.5805(8)
Professional Malpractice 2 yrs. § 600.5805(4)
Trespass 6 yrs. § 600.5813
Collection of Rents 6 yrs. § 600.5813
Contracts Written: 6 yrs. § 600.5807(8 );
Oral contracts: 6 yrs. § 600.5807(8)
Collection of Debt on Account 6 yrs. § 600.5813
Judgments 6-10 yrs § 600.5809(3)
State laws are always subject to change by the state’s legislature. Posts on our website are intended for general public informational purposes only, and do not constitute official legal advice. We attempt to keep said posts up to date as much as possible. But, you should always speak to an attorney directly. Contact an attorney at The Lockwood Legal Group by email or phone for a free consultation about your case today!